History and Recent Renovations
Dating back centuries, evolving through building and renovations right up to the modern day, Knock House and its surrounding estate is steeped in history.
From the mid 15th centuary Knock and the surrounding lands belonged to the MacLeans of Duart, having been granted by King James IV of Scotland. The barony of Aros had long formed part of the territorial dominions of the MacLeans of Duart, and Knock remained within the family for over 200 years. It is believed to be around 1650 that the MacLeans granted a bond in favour of their kinsman, the Marquess of Argyll.
The Marquesses, and subsequent Dukes, of Argyll went onto own Knock House and Benmore Estate for almost 300 years. During this time Queen Victoria’s fourth daughter Princess Louise married John Marquess of Lorne, the 9th Duke of Argyll, who gifted his royal bride with the large Victorian extensions to the house which lend it so much character to this day. Benmore Estate at that time included Ardvergnish and Kilfinichan and extended to around 31,000 acres.
The property ended its history with the Argyll’s in 1924 when it was bought by Lord Massareene. Now belonging to Benmore Estate Ltd, Knock House has special significance for its owners. One of the directors enjoyed family visits to Knock House as a child and, following the unforgettable family holiday on the Isle of Mull, is now delighted to offer the experience to guests. To enhance this experience they oversaw an extensive refurbishment in 2004, bringing the rooms to a very high standard of comfort and style. The renovations included the creation of the much loved ceilidh hall with sprung floor and sound system, for the perfect dance or ceilidh.
More recently during the 2015 and 2016 winter seasons a large proportion of Knock House has been re-pointed. This has given the house a fresh new look and able to shrug off the Scottish weather for years to come.
With so much to enjoy and guests creating their own memories, the Knock House story continues.